Blog Hop

Blog tag is a fun way to connect with other bloggers. If we are tagged, we answer a set of questions and then tag someone else. It’s fun to follow along and see how different authors write, what they write, and what they are working on. I was tagged by friend and fellow author Cami Checketts. Cami writes clean romantic suspense and is a wonderful, wonderful person. Her latest book, Shadows in the Curtain, had me sleeping with the lights on.

Now, on to the questions!

1. What are you working on?

Ah, see that’s the most fun question to ask an author. If you sit down next to an author at a dinner or event, asking them what they’re working on is sure to bring a smile to their face because we authors love to talk about our latest project.

I am working on a bride series. They are sweet romances with a wild premise. The first book is nearly done, the second book is drafted, and the third book needs a major overhaul. But, the women in this series are educated, vivacious, and daring. I’ve loved throwing them into these relationships and shaking up their worlds.

So this is the perfect moment to reveal the cover of my first Billionaire Marriage Brokers  book. I love the colors and the fonts! I’ll let you know more about the book itself in an upcoming post. In the mean time – back to the blog hop.

Janell Book 1 Front Cover

2. How does your work differ from other books in this genre?

Often, when I tell people I write clean romance, they ask, “Is there such a thing?” I assure them that there is a whole world of wonderful, clean romances out there. What sets mine apart, is the humor. My characters find themselves in crazy situations – like getting married on accident or in the middle of a frosting fight at a cookie decorating contest.

3. Why do you write what you do?

Because I love it. When I first started writing, I shied away from the fun stories, thinking I had to be serous if authors and readers were going to take me seriously. I’ve realized that there’s not enough fun out there in the world. The people around me (and me too) are so busy that we rarely get to have fun. For me, that had to change. Not only have I enjoyed writing clean romance, I’ve been rock climbing, wake boarding, and I like to ride my bike. I know, it’s called “cycling,” but that’s the big, grown up word for it. I just like to get out there on the bike and ride around. It’s fun.

4. What’s your writing process?

I usually come up with a premise first. Like: woman falls into ocean, is snagged by a fishing net, cuts her way free, and falls in love with the angry fisherman. Okay, that was officially awful, but you get the idea. 🙂 A lot of times I ask a “what if” question. For The Godmother Chronicles, I wondered about those fairy godmothers. Did they have a life of their own? Were they allowed to fall in love? And, were there limitations…all magic comes with a price.

Once I have a premise, I gather scenes. This is just brainstorming. I have things I want characters to say to each other, feelings they need to explore, and situations that would make them stretch and grow. Once I have those figured out, I write my first draft. There’s a long editing process that happens before the book is ready. When it’s all done, I love publication day. I wish I had a ritual, like taking myself out to lunch or eating a pint of my favorite ice cream. Usually, I just walk around with a stupid grin on my face for a day or so and then jump right in to the next book. 🙂

Where are we headed to next? We’re going to hop on over to Taylor Hart’s blog. She writes  amazing clean romances. You’ll find her here: http://www.taylorhartbooks.com

One thought on “Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

